News. Heroin. Pharmaceutical Giants. Greed.


This life is one filled with trials and tribulations.   When I feel anger flowing hot as molten tar through my veins as I see hate infecting our world-the war on children, the stigma regarding mental illness, rampant violence,  greed, etc.-I tell myself there are many good people out there.  Many people I’ve met on my blog fit into this category.

I limit my exposure to the news when I’m down.  Luckily I’m not as down right now. Last night I watched the international news and then read city/ state news online.  When I finished all I could think is how sad it is to live in a country where we have so much yet people turn their cheeks to the root of many problems and the suffering behind the issues.

Addiction and mental illness are rarely mentioned.   What is mentioned is a herion problem in southern Indiana which has led to an HIV epidemic.  No mention of the pill industry which has led to this problem.  No mention of poverty, joblessness, and deep pain.

What else is mentioned?  In the adds underneath a Huffington post article is stories to click on about Hollywood gossip.  Personally, I could care less about supposed rumors about Bruce Jenner’s plastic surgery and the rest of the Kardashian’s drama.

My point after so much rambling?

Let’s dig below the superficial and not wait until there is an “epidemic” to bring attention to Indiana’s growing Heroin problem.

It is an addiction which for many young people started when they found a bottle of pain pills such as Oxytocin in mom and dad’s medicine cabinet.They get addicted and eventually cannot afford 40 dollars a pill or whatever price and then discover herion is cheap and plentiful.   Next, they discover a bigger high is needed.  They move onto intravenous drug use.  Soon they exchange dirty needles.

Indiana lets not wait for an epidemic to admit we have a problem created by the greed of the pharmaceutical giants who put profit before the true wellness and safety of people.  Also let’s look at the deep social and mental health issues which cause people to end up addicted.

So my point about the trials and tribulations of life?  Let’s push for change and cherish those around us who have not lost their compassion and kindness. Let’s show the positive in the world and work to eliminate the negative.

Perhaps one day we can stop the added trials and tribulations caused by greed and ignorance.  After all life is filled with natural everyday trials and tribulations.   Why add anymore?

One thought on “News. Heroin. Pharmaceutical Giants. Greed.

  1. Alaina says:

    I haven’t watched or read the news since November 1 of last year. I used to read the msn news headlines on my computer at least once a day, and would watch the national news on TV, but I stopped when it became too triggering. It feels a bit weird that I don’t know anything that has happened in our world during the past 5 and a half months. But it also feels a lot peaceful.

Leave a Reply

