Love and Teaching


2015-03-05 12.25.12

Despite how frustrating it can be to deal with the “system” a.k.a the world of education and all its red tape, I’m grateful to be there.

It keeps me going to know I’ve reached a struggling kid.  I had to stop a fight in my classroom today.  Instinct set in and I jumped inbetween and yelled “no!”  I seen the deep anger in his eyes.  I don’t think the kid would have continued and swung because he might have hit me in the process and I’m sure he wouldn’t hurt me.

Even if I was hit I didn’t really care.  The only thing I could hear in my head was I had to stop this.  They were finally trying and growing in the classroom.   I knew if they were kicked out they’d fall through the cracks in the system.  Luckily I stopped it before anyone was hit.  Thank you God!

On a brighter note,I helped two of my kids make gel balls.  The picture is their fingers interlaced in the water.  I edited it and used the cartoon effect. It strikes me as symbolic.  If teachers can teach love and connectedness they can rid the world of a little hate.  A little goes a long way…

4 thoughts on “Love and Teaching

  1. mandy smith says:

    This is beautiful, bdl. You come from experience, therefore, you have a natural gift in understanding and working with children. ❤

  2. Alaina says:

    I agree with Mandy. How lucky those children are to have you. ❤

Leave a Reply

