8 thoughts on “Letting Go of Shame

  1. Alaina says:

    I’ve only recently come to realize that I feel intense shame over the fact that my mother tried to gas our whole family to death when I was a 12-year-old child. I know how irrational and crazy it is for me to feel shame over that — and yet, I do. I guess this is something that goes along with child abuse, regardless of what form the abuse takes.

    • bdlheart says:

      It is so true. We were so programmed to blame everything on our selves. Know one can fully understand except a fellow survivor. I hope as time marches on you’ll feel less shame. Hugs

    • bdlheart says:

      Shame can be a life long struggle even when it happens less. Always on some level it lurks. I’m sorry you carry shame still. Our child brains were expected to act like an adult too early and it twists things. I hope one day you’ll break free from the shame.

      • Alaina says:

        Thank you. I have come a long way from where I was emotionally and mentally when I was at my most broken. I’m in my early 60s now, and I’m beginning to think that some of my scars may never completely go away. But even so, I believe that where there is life, there is always hope. I am not about to give up on my healing journey. 🙂

  2. Inspirational. I’m also writing a memoir – barely though. Lately anyway.

    • bdlheart says:

      It is a great way to heal and help others going through similar issues. Despite all the differences between child abuse stories there are so many familiar threads which connects all of us. Keep writing. Can’t wait to read some. I’ve always found the memoir genre to be intriguing. As my therapist often says reality can be more engrossing than fiction. After all she says “you couldn’t make this shit up if you tried.

      • I go back and forth asking myself why it’s necessary to write it! Yes, to inspire and help others. I find that readers don’t respond as much to serious topics on my blog. I’ve been blogging about dating and relationships for some time. Thank you. Will certainly keep writing.

      • bdlheart says:

        Keep writing about it. Believe me, there are readers who will find you and read it. I’ve slowly gained some followers, but it has been worth it to really connect with people on a deep level.

Leave a Reply

