Powerlessness over alcohol – My friend’s story


I’ve experienced addiction issues in my life. Self-medicating is one symptom of PTSD. Pretty soon-if you’re not careful-it turns into addiction. When I tripped over a bathroom trashcan full of beer bottles, I knew it was time to stop. I’m still far from perfect, but I slip less often and binge drink. While not a topic directly targeted at child abuse, I think this survivor’s story acts as encouragement to those of us who struggle with addiction, trying to silence the voices of the past.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Who are you?

I am a 32-year-old woman, who has a successful career. I am married to a wonderful man, and we have 2 small children. We live in sunny California. Today, I am in a good place. I feel happy and secure. It’s an amazing feeling, especially when you compare it to where I was nine months ago. I don’t want to forget how bad I felt. I am a blackout drunk.

What was it like?

For the last several years, every time I picked up an alcoholic beverage, it turned into a blackout drunk. I was not able to stop drinking. Controlling the amount I consumed was not an option. Years of continuous drinking, were taking a toll on my life. Some days I had just a little and most other days, I had too much. The odd part — even the “too much” days were never…

View original post 818 more words

Leave a Reply

