5 Tips for Writing a Memoir


Will Boast’s five tips for writing a memoir is a helpful resource for survivors who are ready to share their stories. His advice about memoir being the” art of selection and arrangement” is so true. In my memoir there seems to be many pieces to connect and others to ditch. Straight chronological order does not always show the connection between past and present.

publications unltd

From Publishers Weekly Daily | Dec 05, 2014

5 Tips for Writing a Memoir

Will Boast’s standout memoir Epilogue is about the death of his mother, father, and brother. Both a wrenching exploration of grief and a moving story of remembrance, it’s a must-read. Boast shares five rules for writing memoirs.

By Will Boast

As I suspect many writers do, I took the long way round to writing a memoir. It took me nearly three years of trying to cram my subject matter into a novel manuscript before I understood that the story I wanted to tell would fit better into nonfiction. When I finally I came to the memoir form, I had only a vague notion of how such a book might be put together. It took me another five years to finish the manuscript that became Epilogue. As provisional and context-specific as they may be, here are a…

View original post 1,033 more words

Leave a Reply

